Remembering the academics who helped make our department what it is today.

Clive W. J. Granger (1934 – 2009)

Beloved Father, Husband, and Friend
Renowned Professor Economics
Nobel Laureate
Order of Knight Bachelor

Clive was a generous man who devoted huge amounts of time to advising students, colleagues and visitors. He had an unusual combination of intellect, warmth and humility that provided constant inspiration for those around him. Please use this page to honor Clive and his family by sharing your memories, thoughts and stories of how he impacted you and the world around him.

Also see: A Celebration of the Life of Clive W. J. Granger; Cementing Clive Granger’s Legacy

31 Responses »

  1. Dr. Granger was a great professor & educator. He was able to relate complex thoughts and ideas to practical terms that his students could understand. His thought provoking methods of educating his students were a gift to the many of us who had the privilidge to study under him. He will be missed by those he touched in his many years of service to the university.

    Kurt Cretors
    BA of Economics
    Class of 1986

  2. I was an undergraduate student at UCSD from Fall 1967 to Spring 1971. During one quarter, I think fall 1969, Professor Granger was a visitor at UCSD and he was my instructor for the first quarter of Intermediate Price Theory, Econ 100a. More than 30years later, he stopped by to visit with some of the econometricians at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill where I am now a professor of economics. I was able to sit with Clive for fifteen minutes and show him the hand written notes I had taken in his class some thirty years earlier. He was amazed that he had taught intermediate micro and amazed I had kept the notes. He was a great man and will be missed.

  3. I remember Dr. Granger’s class as if it were yesterday. I was always impressed with his gentle ability to communicate to students at their level, and his great ability to teach rigorous economic and finance data. I now teach high school mathematics following a long career in systems and business analysis. I let my students know about the confidence I gained through UC San Diego. Dr. Granger was one of the chief educators who provided me that confidence. I am saddened to hear of his passing, and know that the world was a better place for his having been part of it.

  4. R.I.P. Clive Granger

    Your contribution to society will be remembered. As an alumni from UCSD’s Economics department, I thank you for the lifelong commitment in educating generations of aspiring students.

    -Frank

  5. Professor Granger showed so much patience and was very understanding. As just one of the many undergrads (class of ’95) seeking his guidance on many econometrics problems, what I remember the most was his joyous and joking attitude towards everyone. May God bless you Professor Granger!

Newer Comments ›

Share a memory...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.